Connect with us


Man City Wins Carabao Cup After Beating Chelsea On Penalty Shootout

Manchester City have won the Carabao Cup in a very tight penalty shootout at Wembley after Chelsea goalkeeper Kepa Arrizabalaga defied manager Maurizio Sarri’s attempt to substitute him.

The Citizens claimed the first major trophy as they chase a historic quadruple but this stale final, which was goalless after extra time, will be remembered for an almost unprecedented challenge to Sarri’s authority by Kepa.

Chelsea’s club record signing goalkeeper had been struggling with cramp in the closing stages of extra time and Sarri decided to send on substitute Willy Caballero, who saved three penalties in a shootout to help Manchester City win this trophy against Liverpool in 2016.

Kepa refused to come off and Sarri backed down in a rage – before City won the shootout, with Raheem Sterling scoring the decisive penalty.

Ilkay Gundogan, Sergio Aguero and Bernardo Silva scored from the spot for City and even though Kepa saved from Leroy Sane it was to no avail.

Jorginho’s spot-kick was saved by Ederson and David Luiz hit the post as Chelsea were sunk, despite Cesar Azplicueta, Emerson and Eden Hazard converting their penalties.

Manchester City retained the trophy but Kepa’s insubordination is the headline story.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Must See

More in Football